Steelseries Sensei Xai Mod Dismantle xai Dismantle Sensei

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Sketch

Sketch
  • [DkR] Clan Member
  • 717 posts

Posted 15 May 2012 - 09:49 pm

The dismantling section in this mod Is virtually the same for both the Xai and the Sensei so don't be worried. I will provide a picture of the Sensei's innards as a comparison to the Xai. (The Sensei actually has less screws holding it together so it even simpler to take appart.)

Sensei to Xai Mod

Here is a little bit about how this came about. I have been using the Steelseries Xai for over 2 years now. I liked the shape, feel and weight of the mouse a lot and had got rather accustomed to it. About 2 years in, which I consider very good for a mouse , the cable started to become unreliable and began to disconnect infrequently. As a replacement I was bought the Xai's Successor; a Sensei for my birthday. It boasted an improved sensor with no negative acceleration as found on the Xai.

I played for several weeks to get used to the Sensei before deciding it wasn’t for me. I loved the mouse technically but the slippery top just didn't cut it. So I got in contact with the lovely guys at Steelseries who happily sent me an old defunct Xai to play around with as my xai case was rather worn out at this point.

This was my Solution its very simple, it just takes the Sensei guts and giblets and places them within the much more comfortable and grippy Xai casing.

Here is what you need.
  • Screwdriver
  • knife
  • Corepad Skatez Replacement Mouse feet
  • A Xai Case/ Old Xai mouse
  • A fully functional Sensei
  • Rubber Gloves
  • 2 Pieces of hose cut in 14” sections
  • A washing up Liquid bottle
  • Some googly eyes
Here is what I used:
Posted Image

Step 1:
To access the base of the Xai you will first need to take off the Mouse feet. Be careful not to Damage or scratch the base of the Xai as we are using the Whole Xai case for the mod.